Autoimmune Ganglionopathy

Just got my doctor notes in the mail from Cleveland. This part was something I didn't hear while I was there.

"The appearance of symptoms post viral meningitis raises the question of an autoimmune ganglionopathy..."

I did a search on here, and on Google, and did not understand them. Can someone dumb it down for me please?

Thanks

Angela

Angela,

Hi! I am not an expert or very knowledgeable on this subject by any means, but I thought I would take a stab at it. Hopefully someone else can add in some more info for you.

I think what it is saying is that he believes that getting these symptoms after being sick with viral meningitis, that your immune system turned on itself (autoimmune). So, then your symptoms are more autoimmune in nature, rather than hyperadrenergic or small fiber neuropathy related. Instead the autoimmune reaction is occuring further up the chain at the ganglion level. Small fiber neuropathy is neuropathy that occurs distally or further from the body (hands and feet and works inward). With something like this the body is attacking itself closer to the spinal cord at the ganglion level (bundle of nerves coming in/out of the spinal cord). Some ganglia are purely autonomic.

This is where some people get the blood test for the AChR antibodies. This can tell if this is what is occuring, but is not necessarily always positive. (I think... so, it could be negative and they may still say this is what is going on). I think Mestinon is used some with people with this diagnosis. Also, IgG may also be used?