Flying Uk To Harvard- Can Folk With Pots Do Long Flights?

Hello all,

As you may know, I manage POTS quite well at the moment. I have trouble when the plane takes off and lands sometimes, but I am wondering if I could indeed fly long enough to get from the UK to Harvard for a conference this October.

also, any of you near Harvard- it would be great to meet up in the flesh, as I have been kicking about these boards on and off for 5 years and feel like I know some of you very well indeed!

P x

I've flown between western/eastern Europe and the US multiple times, mostly with no problems (though the day I first got full-blown POTS symptoms was the day after I flew Boston-Stockholm). I seem to do fine as long as I drink lots of water/Gatorade/V8, and take in lots of salt before, during, and after the flight. I wear compression hose daily anyway, but I also keep my legs at least somewhat elevated throughout, usually just by planting them on my seat, next to me. My symptoms right now are under fairly good control with Florinef and Midodrine (plus salt, compression, and fluids), though.

Guest tearose

Let me know more! My son recently graduated Harvard and is living nearby still. I would be delighted to meet you!

What is the conference about? PM me!

As for the flight...lots of hydration, walk around when you can, use layers of compression and know that just shortly after take off and just before landing will be the hardest time with the changes in cabin pressure. I did well with a bit of caffeine to raise bp. Take a bit of extra salt to hold onto more fluids too, if you can manage more sodium.

tearose

I'd love to be able to fly transatlantic. I used to do it regularly before I got sick with no problems. But I'm afraid of feeling really bad and being "stuck" for the remainder of the flight. But I really don't know how I'd react. I did however research boats--they take a VERY long time, are pricey, and only leave/arrive from/in one or two ports.

Hi Persephone,