Coming Out of the Closet with POTS!

Herdswoman

HELLLLLOOOOOO POTSPLACE!

Amy Richcreek here, met some of you across from MCO at dinner at Ruby Tuesday's a month or so ago. Figured it was time to come out and say howdy on the board. Notice I am not using the name Tiger Lady, but my usual cybername, Herdswoman. I've made a couple of big steps the last month or so and I wanted to be able to share them. I'm actually kinda proud of myself, because I am learning to accept this disease on it's own terms and the fact that it dictates more and more of how I will live. I have been diagnosed for two years, but have had symptoms for eleven years. I've learned to laugh at myself and this disease, because crying just isn't an option. Well, at least not very often and certainly not in public. Humor is much better. Support is better yet. Love is the best. But if I'm not being particularly loved at the moment, I'll settle for a really bad joke.

I'm a registered nurse of 20 years with a background in cardiac care (medical and surgical treatment) infection control and outpatient care. I once put myself on monitor when I was at work.....worked most of a 12 hour shift with a heart rate of 120-150, no symptoms, no problem. (Gee, that's enough to make me wish I was still in my 30's, hahaha) I quit working this past March and am currently transitioning into Long Term Disability through my private insurance carrier. I am also doing the Social Security Shuffle, but it seems the folks down in Columbus don't quite hear the same beat that I do, so it's taking some time.