Pots Party

EarthMother

My daughter arrived back from her semester in Italy right before the Holidays and it was so wonderful to see her again. But I was fortunate (and a technology geek) that we were able to stay in close touch with a variety of web video conference programs.

The last one we found together is something called MEBEAM.COM -- it's free and required no software to be installed, configured, or downloaded on to our computers. She has a mac and I have a vista laptop and it worked seamlessly on both of our systems.

So I was thinking wouldn't it be nice to have a POTS PARTY! With mebeam, you can have up to 16 people in a live free video chat. I've never done it before, but it sounded like a fun experiment. (Oh, if you do check out the website, don't click on "random room" ... some people have an odd sense about what is appropriate on video. ;) ) But the room we would create would be just for us and it would only be open while we were there.

So, if anyone is interested let me know and I'll try and figure out a day and time zone that works ... and we can have a POTS PotLuck!

Happy New Year everyone!

~EM

hi

sounds great.... never taked to others whit dys, exept on forums... but I am a diansour when it comes to internett and computers and stuff so..... and living in eourope i gess i am on a bitt difrent time sone than most of u... but having insomnia i gess i could spend my waking night hours on compunter insted of in bed..

that would be fun!!! if i remember well, we ve been talking about a virtual party before and what everyone would "bring" (it might be years ago and more in phantasy tnan in a room like you are suggesting). let me know if and when the party will be!!!

take care,

corina : )

• 2 weeks later...

I just checked and mebeam.com will work if you only have a mic and no webcam, but it will not let you enter the room if you do not have either.

So ok, let's give this a group think! ...

What days of the week work best?