Please Respond

Guest veryblue

Guest veryblue

Ok I have been talking about this for awhile now, but I am really wondring if anyone else gets low BP readings while laying down and then normal or slightly high when standing...it this POTS or could it be low blood volume from something else? Please I am desperate to know what is wrong with me. I will get readings of about 90 something over 60 something, then stand up and get a reading of 120 over 80...is this just low blood volume....it cant be beacause of blood pooling when Im laying down now can it? What is going on with me? Please let me know if anyone else sufferes from this as well or knows a possible explination. Thanks! Oh by the way my HR is higher 90-80s when this happens and I already have cut back on my beta blockers so that is not the culprit either! Help!

<< I will get readings of about 90 something over 60 something, then stand up and get a reading of 120 over 80>>

I'm no doctor, but this sounds perfectly normal to me. Blood pressure is in constant flux in healthy individuals and a change of that magnitude is not at all unusual when changing positions.

If you are concerned about your blood pressure, I would recommend a 24-hour ambulatory blood pressure monitor that your doctor can then interpret for you. The test involves a cuff that inflates every 15 minutes during the day-time hours and every 30 minutes while you sleep. You keep a log of your activities throughout the day and then the log is matched up against the readings. I had this done and was deemed perfectly normal - even with a reading as high as 165/90 (while driving in DC Beltway traiffic) and a reading as low as 85/48 (while sleeping). This test is often used to distinguish white-coat from true hypertension.

Good luck to you.

Those readings sound pretty much like my own. My BP is always low while laying down and high normal when I stand. When I'm sitting it can be either high or low.