Meniere's

Hi,

Did you get diagnosed with Minere's before or after you were diagnosed with POTS? the reason I ask, is I suffered from migranes and "Minere's" for a couple years before I was actually diagnosed with POTS. Just wondering if maybe the POTS is what is causing the migrane type of headaches. I'm not a doctor or anything, but I have similar symptoms and NONE of the migraine medicine they used helped.....it's all such a vicious circle of symptoms.. hope you're doing okay.

I have meneire's that was diagnosed unequivically (a special test) about 15 years ago. Mine is also bilateral. I cut out salt waaaay back then, but didn't develop severe problems with pots till about 8 years ago. I have vestibular type, so don't have the classic hearing loss that some do, but do have some loss.

All I can tell you is my experience. POTS is so disabling, but I would rather suffer with those symptoms than with a full blown meneire's attack any day. With pots, you usually at least feel better when you can recline or something, but nothing helps my meniere's which can last for hours and leave residual attacks for days. I call them after shocks. My pots can be a major bummer too, rendering me helpless at times also, but it's just not as awful as a meneire's attack, for me.

I can't take diuretics or anticholinergics, which is what's prescribed the most. I take 1-2 mg of valium a few times a day, and my dose has never changed, unless I'm having a big flare and then he puts me on prednisone till things calm down.

So, to me personally, it is not worth taking the salt. I think my body has become very accustomed to low or no salt, because I grew up that way too. My mom had kidney disease, so we never had salt in the house.