Iv Fluids

How fast do you get your IV fluids?

I got 2 liters today in about an hour because the EMTs were eager to move things along. I started to feel better during the first liter, but at the end of the second liter, I felt my heart rate spike and there was a "coolness" in my chest and throat that was very uncomfortable. I wondered if anyone here has had that type of reaction from getting IV fluids too quickly.

Also, if EMTs giving them at home are not able to wait for me to get them slowly, do any of you have another way of getting IV fluids at home? Usually when I need an IV, I'm shaking and feeling so terrible that a trip out to a clinic or office is sort of out of the question.

Thanks for your help!

Hi,

I don't get any IV fluids but I was wondering if you could have a home health aide (not sure if they can give IV's??) or visiting nurse give you the fluids?

Preface my remarks by saying that I am not a doctor.

However the rate of infusion that you received seems pretty fast to me.

At an infusion center, it took about 1.5 hours to get a liter of fluid.

Why did the emt's deliver the infusion? Is that usual in your area?

Perhaps your doctor could write an order for IV saline when needed and then you could arrange to receive it at your local hospital infusion center. When I feel really bad, I then get an infusion.

Chat with your doctor about your needs.

Lois

Hi,

the rate of IV fluid depends on many factors. When I have been very dehydrated I was given a litre of Saline over 15 mins then 500mls of Gelofusin over 30 mins (45 mins for 1.5 litres).

It probably depends on how dehydrated you are, what your BP and HR are, how effective your heart is at pumping (giving fast IV fluids to someone who's has heart failure can cause pulmonary oedema - "fluid on the lungs") (usually these are elderly patients who have ischaemic heart disease / previous heart attack).