Heart thumps when lying down - symptom?

I'm new to all of this (posted previously that I had a positive tilt table a couple weeks ago/waiting on official diagnosis). But I'm hoping this symptom can be explained - or at least someone can relate to it. 

When I lay down at night, my heart beats oddly. It feels like it's jolting, restarting, thumping, flip-flopping... I don't know the best word to describe it. But it happens frequently and sometimes it makes me so anxious that I have a panic attack. Which just makes things worse.

Does anyone else experience this? Could it be related to POTS/NCS? Experiencing it again now and can't sleep because I'm worried!

Thanks to anyone who can help!

Yes! This is exactly what I've been experiencing too! I keep reading all this postural connection but never found anything on it happening upon lying down. I don't get it on standing or exercise hardly ever. I get it at random times , too, but 75% of the times I lie down I get it.  Just finished 2wks on heart monitor so hopefully ill have results in a wk. Feels so stimulating heart being so weird, that even when I "know" I'm ok, it's still hard to sleep. Sorry you are going through that, but have to say I'my relieved to find somebody else with this. Please post anything else you find out. I've also had blood pressure drops upon lying down. Do you get those too? I believe my dysautonomia is from car accident 7 wks ago. But dr doesnt. She's puzzled. Heart started after couple wks & blood pressure drops about 4the wk. Not sure if it would be from my concussion or whiplash. Do you know what yours is from?

Forceful heartbeats, PVCs, PACs is a common symptom with POTS.   Causes from one person to another may differ.  I know how disturbing it is.  It used to make me feel panic/anxiety too.  For me, it's worse right before my period, so hormonal shifts seem to play a role.