New 2-Hour Lecture On Pots And The Autonomic Nervous System

Carrie

Hi everyone,

Hopefully this won't seem like self-promotion because it's really meant to help!

I'm a biochemistry professor and also have hyper POTS and NMS. Since I'm not teaching over summer vacation, I spent some time this week making a lecture explaining POTS, along with the normal function of the autonomic nervous system. It ended up being two hours long. It's designed for college students and healthcare professionals, but it's meant to be accessible for POTS patients and our families, too.

It is so difficult to find good information, and we all spend so much time searching message boards, research journals, textbooks, etc., that I wanted to help simplify things and offer a comprehensive lecture that includes not just a list of symptoms but a physiologic explanation for why they occur, a detailed look at the autonomic nervous system in "normal" people, an explanation for the possible genetic causes of POTS, and a review of the medicinal treatments and how they work on adrenergic receptors. I don't want to spam here with too many terms, but the lecture includes topics like NET deficiency, COMT, autoimmunity, etc. The video description on the YouTube page has a timeline to subdivide the sections and topics.

Anyway, NO OBLIGATION to watch, and I feel a little awkward posting my work here, but I really hope it can be beneficial. Hopefully it will give a thorough overview for people who are new to POTS, and also offer more advanced detail and insights for those who have been dealing with this for years!

Be well!

Thank you, everyone! I really appreciate the kinds words and hope that this offers some help. Over the years I've learned so much from the generous sharing from other people, and I want to be part of contributing and "paying it forward" to provide comfort and understanding to someone else!