Broken Blood Vessels On Chest And Legs

A few weeks ago I developed a few broken blood vessel/ spider vein looking things on my chest. I had a cough at the time, so I thought I had just popped some blood vessels, no big deal.

Over the past few weeks and particularly in the past few days, I have developed more of these on my chest and especially on my legs.

I am a student in college and I went to the health center here, and they ran some bloodwork. Liver function and CBC were normal, but my sed rate was elevated at 65. I called my PCP and she told me to get into the rheumatologist (that appt. is in a little over a week).

I have a lot of autonomic issues and am also currently being evaluated for mitochondrial disease (waiting 8 weeks for blood work, ugh).

...Anyway, has anyone had anything like this? Any idea what on earth this is? It is definitely accompanied by pain, particularly in my legs, and I told the doctor at the health center I was worried about some type of vasculitis or something, but she said she didn't think it presented like this?

I am confuuuused.

Hi Applescruffs-

I am older than you- almost 48 y/o and I have spider veins on my trunk- beneath my bra line above my belly and on my legs. I have also recently gotten some broken blood vessels under my eyes- those go away with time.

Mine are not accompanied by pain. I'm guessing that the lack of adequate venous return over time causes these. Blood trying to return to the heart doesn't quite make it & pools in other places? BTW, I am working with a dermo, who is zapping my leg veins with a laser. I have treatment #2 in about a week- seems to help esthetically.

The fact that you are so young, symptomatic, and have an elevated sed rate all possibly point to something more acute. I am glad that you're seeing a rheumy. Please let us know what you find out.

Hugs-

Julie